Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery”

The story “The Lottery” starts  in a small village where the people are close and tradition paramount. I think this stroy is interesting because it gives irony. The Lottery is a year event which person in the town is randomly chosen by  a drawing. This story reminds to the movie the hunger games because in the movie people in the town has to choose a person by a drawing. When I was reading the story, I felt that it was clear because people in the village seems to like the lottery, but the person who chosen they seem to be unhappy. I really don’t like this lottery game. I wish that we can this discuss the story in class, but I think we don’t more time for that. I think that Jackson uses symbolic names to indicate and foreshadow what will come to be after the lottery is conducted happens. Also, the story presents religious and symbolic meanings to the lottery. In the sentences, “ Bobby Martin had already stuffed his pockets full of stones, and the other boys soon followed his example, selecting the smoothest and roundest stones;” shows that young kids were picking up smooth stones. Even the color of the box (black) is a universal symbol for evil and death. The three legged stool represents the Christian Trinity. I think this story makes a relationship with all about Christianity. I like the story about I think it is confused why  they have to kill someone.

Leave a Reply

