Those Winter Sundays

The poem “Those Winter Sundays” remind me of my grandfather. I really enjoyed this poem becase how Robert Handey refers to his father. In the beginning of the poem he starts with line, “Sundays too my father got up early and put his clothes on in the blueblack cold.” It seems that he father wakes up every morning to work even though it is winter. Also, I see that his father is the type of parent that takes care of his family and Robert makes that clear in this his poem. In this line he says, “No one ever thanked him.” I think that No one thanked his father when he was alive, and after he wrote this poem is a way to realize that Robert didn’t thank him alive. Soemtimes, people don’t thank to the ones they love when they are alive. I think this happened to Robert. Here Handey says, “I’d wake and hear the cold splintering, breaking. When the rooms were warm, he’d call.” Handey says that he woke up in the morning to see his father awake. soemtimes, I woke up in the morning just to see my grandpa leaving, and wished him a good day. I think this was the same thing for Robert. End of the poem, I really got confused because he finished with quentions. “What did I know, what did I know of love’s austere and lonely offices?” I think these quentions only bring melancholy because he doesn’t that he is father wakes every morning just for a better life.

 

One thought on “Those Winter Sundays

Leave a Reply

