The Cask of Amontillado by Edgar Allan Poe

The Cask of Amontillado was a pretty hard reading. There were words that I did not understand, but I used an essential tool which was the dictionary and I thought it was very helpful. I think the more I read about kind of literature, I will learn many different words that back in the past people used them commonly. In addition, I found this story very interesting even though I do not usually read stories like this kind. However, I really enjoyed this one. I got very astonish when Montresor was trying to convice Fortunado. Montresor really have the power to persuade Fortunado, at the same I could imagine how Montresor had prepared where Fortunado was about to be killed. I think that Fortunado did not realize that Montresor did not have a cask of amontillado because he was inebriated and maybe he wanted to help Montresor. In my opinion, Montresor was an evil man who was jealous of fortunado for some reasons such as money, admiration, and respect from many people in the village. It might be possible that Fortunado was a little conceited because of the things he had. At the end, I think Montresor should have not killed Fortunado because when you have problems with someone, it is better to talk and be a good person.

I hope I can read more about this author and finish the story of The Cask of Amontillado.

One thought on “The Cask of Amontillado by Edgar Allan Poe

  1. I’m glad that this story interests you! It is definitely a difficult reading, but I’m glad that it inspired you to look up some words.

    It’s amazing how insults and, as you mention, jealousy can make people insane. Emotions seem to rule people in Poe’s work, and you’ve pointed to this nicely!

Leave a Reply

